Let My People Know

"The Seven Shepherds are present among us"

“The Seven Shepherds–Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, Moses, Aaron, Joseph and David–are seven eminent figures in our history.

Of course, they are also much more than that.

They are personalities who continue to lead the Children of Israel, even in our times, in an invisible fashion.

We invite them to our sukkah because we really feel that they are present among us and are not figments of the past.

Men fall into two categories.

The first is composed of men who act at one point in history.

They belong to the past and their actions have come to a close.

The Seven Shepherds, however, belong to the second category of men: those who have a permanent impact on the Jewish soul, an impact that has lasted up to this very day.

These Shepherds are more than archetypal figures.

A more fitting description is that we, as their descendents, have undergone their influence and have integrated part of their personalities.

The Seven Shepherds are not figures or role models, but rather seven facets, or seven fundamental features of our identity.

These Shepherds do not roam the fields; they roam our souls.

They are our spiritual fathers, and we ‘carry’ their genes.

They are the building blocks of our heritage and our spiritual genetic background.”

–Rabbi Adin Steinsaltz

From “The Three Pilgrim Festivals” p. 271-272, in The Seven Lights by Rabbi Adin Steinsaltz